IZS 2008 Conference Program

The program is also available as a PDF file (720 kB).

Tuesday, March 11

16:00 - 18:00 Registration desk open

Wednesday, March 12

08:00 Registration desk opens
08:50 Opening Address
09:00 - 10:00   Keynote Lecture by Ezio Biglieri (Univ. Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona)
10:30 - 12:10 Session 1
14:00 - 15:40 Session 2
16:10 - 17:50 Session 3

Thursday, March 13

09:00 - 10:00   Keynote Lecture by Michael Steele (Wharton Univ. of Pennsylvania)
10:30 - 12:10 Session 4
14:00 - 15:40 Session 5
16:10 - 17:50 Session 6
19:00 - end Conference Banquet

Friday, March 14

09:00 - 10:00   Keynote Lecture by John Tsitsiklis (MIT)
10:30 - 12:10 Session 7
14:00 - 15:40 Session 8


Keynote Lecture (Wednesday 09:00 - 10:00)

Ezio Biglieri,
Applications of random-set theory to wireless communications

Session 1 (Wednesday 10:30 - 12:10)

Randy Berry,
Energy-delay trade-offs in wireless networks
Behnaam Aazhang and Ashutosh Sabharwal,
Opportunistic and Cooperative Wireless Networks
Somsak Kittipiyakul, Petros Elia, and Tara Javidi,
Communicating bursty and delay-sensitive information over outage limited channels
Shashi Borade and Lizhong Zheng,
Euclidean information theory
Daniela Tuninetti,
Repetition protocols and channel state information in block-fading channels

Session 2 (Wednesday 14:00 - 15:40)

Mohammad Hossein Manshaei, Julien Freudiger, Mark Felegyhazi, Peter Marbach, and Jean-Pierre Hubaux,
Wireless social community networks: a game-theoretic analysis
Milan Vojnovic,
On mobile user behaviour patterns
Augustin Chaintreau and Laurent Massoulié,
Phase transition in opportunistic mobile networks
Mathilde Durvy, Olivier Dousse, and Patrick Thiran,
Fairness vs spatial reuse in wireless 802.11 networks
Dominique Tschopp, Suhas Diggavi, and Matthias Grossglauser,
Routing in mobile wireless networks

Session 3 (Wednesday 16:10 - 17:50)

Robert Fischer and Christian Siegl,
Peak-to-average power ratio reduction in OFDM using Reed-Solomon Codes
Matthieu Bloch, Rajesh Narasimha, and Steven W. McLaughlin,
Client-server architecture design based on wiretap codes
Andrew Singer, Naresh Shanbhag, and Hyeon-Min Bae,
Electronic equalization of fiber optic links
Dirk Daecke and Heinrich Schenk,
Solving the interaction problem of timing synchronization and equalization
Alessandro Nordio, Carla-Fabiana Chiasserini, and Emanuele Viterbo,
Signal reconstruction in multidimensional sensor fields

Keynote Lecture (Thursday 09:00 - 10:00)

Michael Steele,
How a false probability model changed the world: birth, death, and reincarnation of Black-Scholes

Session 4 (Thursday 10:30 - 12:10)

Holger Boche and Siddharth Naik,
Axiomatic characterization of resource allocation and social welfare orderings for centralized wireless communication
Iryna Andriyanova,
Finite-length scaling of repeat-accumulate codes on the BEC
Daniele Capirone, Giacomo Como, Fabio Fagnani, and Federica Garin,
Nonbinary decoding of structured LDPC codes
Jossy Sayir, Ingmar Land, and Alex Grant,
Information indivisibility results
Christian Schlegel and Dmitri Truhachev,
Generalized modulation and iterative demodulation

Session 5 (Thursday 14:00 - 15:40)

Shirin Jalali and Tsachy Weissman,
Lossy source coding via Markov chain Monte Carlo
Stark Draper, Lingjia Liu, Andreas Molisch, and Jonathan Yedidia,
Iterative linear-programming-based route optimization for cooperative networks
Uri Erez, Mitchell Trott, and Gregory Wornell,
An efficient ARQ scheme with SNR feedback
Salman Avestimehr, Suhas Diggavi, and David Tse,
Information flow over compound wireless relay networks
Maryam Modir Shanechi, Uri Erez, and Greg Wornell,
On universal coding for parallel Gaussian channels

Session 6 (Thursday 16:10 - 17:50)

Guillermo Barrenetxea, François Ingelrest, Gunnar Schaefer, and Martin Vetterli,
Wireless sensor networks for environmental monitoring: the SensorScope experience
Anna Scaglione, Mehmet Yildiz, and Tuncer Aysal,
Achievable distortion/rate tradeoff in a decentralized Gaussian parameter estimation problem
Paul Balister, Bela Bollobas, Martin Haenggi, Amites Sarkar, and Mark Walters,
Sentry selection in sensor networks: a sufficient condition for k single covers
Dor Shaviv and Yossef Steinberg,
On the multiple access channel with common rate-limited feedback
Bobak Nazer and Michael Gastpar,
Structured random codes and sensor network coding theorems

Keynote Lecture (Friday 09:00 - 10:00)

John Tsitsiklis,
Decentralized detection over a tree of sensors

Session 7 (Friday 10:30 - 12:10)

Ezio Biglieri, Yi Hong, and Emanuele Viterbo,
On fast-decodable space-time block codes
Rodrigo de Miguel and Ralf Muller,
Convex precoding for vector channels in high dimensions
Khaled Hassan and Werner Henkel,
UEP exploitation in MIMO-OFDM with beamforming and channel correlation feedback
Troels Pedersen, Attaphongse Taparugssanagorn, Juha Ylitalo, and Bernard Fleury,
On the impact of TDM in estimation of MIMO channel capacity from phase-noise impaired measurements
Maya Badr and Jean-Claude Belfiore,
Distributed space-time block codes for the non cooperative multiple access channel

Session 8 (Friday 14:00 - 15:40)

Brian Dunn and Nicholas Laneman,
Rate-delay tradeoffs for communicating a bursty source over an erasure channel with feedback
Ekine Akuiyibo and Olivier Leveque,
Diversity-multiplexing tradeoff for the slow fading interference channel
Wooseok Nam, Sae-Young Chung, and Yong H. Lee,
Capacity bounds for two-way relay channels
Avi Steiner and Shlomo Shamai (Shitz),
Multi-layer broadcast hybrid-ARQ strategies
Amichai Sanderovich, Michael Peleg, and Shlomo Shamai (Shitz),
Scaling laws in decentralized processing of interfered Gaussian channels

Back to IZS 2008 home page.